Energy Academy Europe is part of New Energy Coalition





Early January 2018 we saw the kick-off of the Energy Community of young researchers in Groningen. A surprising 55 PhD candidates joined this first meet-up. The new community has sofar received some 60 registras, including researchers from a broad variety of subject fields related to the common denominator ‘Energy’. 




The growing awareness that there is much energy-related knowledge available within the universities of Groningen (University of Groningen & Hanze University of Applied Science) that could be used to everyone’s benefit lead to the foundation of this PhD Energy Community. Enthousiasts from various fields now have a platform where they can organize as PhD candidates in an inclusive network for young energy researchers of all disciplines. Goals: to get to know who are the other young energy researchers, meet up, and organize activities for professional development and shared benefit (and of course, share some good times along the way).


Peer review groups

One of the activities which proved to be of great interest is the formation of ‘peer review groups’. In peer review groups the members can help each other optimize manuscripts for publication, broaden horizons on the shared subject of energy and get support and feedback of fellow-researchers.

Next peer review, inlcuding prep & coaching by Dr Anne Beaulieu:

Thursday, 1 March at the Energy Academy Building

Registered members who wish to participate in a peer review group can send a quick e-mail to stating the subject of the paper they wish to put forward.

Haven’t registered as a Community-member yet? Send us a quick e-mail message!

Save the dates! Next meet-ups:

– Thursday, April 12

– Thursday, June 14

Location: Energy Academy Building


Please do not hesitate to invite any ‘energy’-PhDs candidates/researchers you may know – a quick message to will do the trick!

Any other feedback, input, suggestions are more than welcome.



The initiators:

Dirk Kuiken (energy law), 
Annemijn Peters (environmental psychology), 
Rozanne Spijkerboer (spatial sciences), 
Karabee Das (Center for Energy and Environmental Sciences – IVEM) 
Laiz Souto (ENgineering and TEchnology institute Groningen – ENTEG),
Arjan Trinks (Energy Economics), 
Yara Marusyk (International Relations), 
Margarita Nieves Zárate (energy law), 
Roel van Veen (communications at Hanze University of Applied Science),
Esther van der Waal (Center for Energy and Environmental Sciences – IVEM),
Angela Greco (Centre for Sustainable Entrepreneurship at campus Fryslân), 
Sandra Dijkstra (Energy Academy Europe).